Out of Commission…

I was skiing up on Mt Hood with my little brother and was unfortunately hit by an out-of-control snowboarder.

Casually skiing downhill about 300 yards from the end of the run, I was being cautious as ever because of the many skiers/boarders on the hill. My lil bro and I would switch off who would lead and who would follow. On this run I was leading.

Skiing down shredding back and forth I would stop occasionally for my bro to catch up. As I was skiing back and forth on the last bit of the run I see this snowboarder hauling straight towards me last minute. It was too late for me to do anything – I tried to cut up to prevent him from hitting me but needless to say it didn’t help.

My skies came off and I somehow ended up landing 10 feet down the hill. When I stood up I felt a slight pain in my shin area – it felt bruised. My bro said that as I walked up to get my skies I looked like I was going to kill the kid. I had a few choice words to say then I explained that people above must yield to those below.

I skied down and hung out as my bro did another run. As he was on the run I decided to check out the damage. I noticed my pants had a hole and I realized it probably wasn’t good. I pulled up my pant leg and I noticed there was a multitude of blood then decided to get it checked out or at least cleaned up. I went into the Providence Hospital onsite and they immediately told me I needed stitches. I ended up with about 17 or so…

The damage done –

  • Large hole in snow pants and under armor leggings
  • Even larger hole in leg
  • About 17 stitches
  • Not Priceless…. Price: To Be Determined

Please KNOW THE CODE!

Know the Code / Live the Code

Your Responsibility Code

You Are Responsibile.

Skiing can be enjoyed in many ways. At ski areas, you may see people using alpine, snowboard, telemark, cross country and other specialized ski equipment, such as that used by disabled or other skiers. Regardless of how you decide to enjoy the slopes, always show courtesy to others and be aware that there are elements of risk in skiing that common sense and personal awareness can help reduce. Observe the code listed below and share the responsibility with other skiers for a great skiing experience.

  1. Always stay in control, and be able to stop or avoid other people or objects.
  2. People ahead of you have the right of way. It is your responsibility to avoid them.
  3. You must not stop where you obstruct a trail, or are not visible from above.
  4. Whenever starting downhill or merging into a trail, look uphill and yield to others.
  5. Always use devices to help prevent runaway equipment.
  6. Observe all posted signs and warnings. Keep off closed trails and out of closed areas.
  7. Prior to using any lift, you must have the knowledge and ability to load, ride and unload safely.

KNOW THE CODE. IT’S YOUR RESPONSIBILITY.

Leave a Reply

